Circle Publishing Company - New York (1908-1909)

The Circle Publishing Company was incorporated in 1908. The Circle magazine was purchased by this company from Funk & Wagnalls at that time. By 1910 this firm was bankrupt.

It published the 20 volume Makers of History Series sometime between 1908 and 1909. The title page and spine of Circle's Makers of History books is identical to the 1906 A. L. Fowle publications.

20 volume set.

All of the books below were authored by Jacob Abbott except for #14, 15, 19, and 20 which were written by his brother John S. C. Abbott.

Makers of History
1. Romulus
2. Alfred
3. Cyrus
4. Darius
5. Xerxes
6. Alexander
7. Pyrrhus
8. Cleopatra
9. Hannibal
10. Caesar
11. Nero
12. William the Conqueror
13. Genghis Khan
14. Henry IV- John S. C. Abbott
15. Hernando Cortez- John S. C. Abbott
16. Queen Elizabeth
17. Mary Queen of Scots
18. Peter the Great
19. Maria Antoinette- John S. C. Abbott
20. Josephine- John S. C. Abbott